Reflection

God hears me

One Saturday evening last October I was cleaning the house and listening to worship music. A favorite song was playing—one I listen to infrequently so I can savor it more. “All hail King Jesus,” it says. “All hail the Lord of heaven and earth.” In a moment of joy I spun around the room with my hands held high and exclaimed, “I love you, Jesus!”

And then I stopped. I wondered whether Jesus received my love. And I went on cleaning.

♥ ♥ ♥

I often struggle to believe that God hears my prayers. Maybe I think he’s a passive listener. Omniscient, but not really paying attention. Omnipresent, but reluctantly.

Now, I’ve read there’s nowhere I can flee from his good presence, and that before a word is on my tongue, he knows it completely. But it’s hard to go from head to heart. I need the Holy Spirit to transform my imagination.

Maybe my question was a stirring from the Holy Spirit to hope for something more. Maybe in the midst of doubt, there was a hope arising for communion.

♥ ♥ ♥

The next morning I was in church singing the Gloria. As I bowed my head in reverence to Jesus, I heard him speak to me. He said, I hear you.

I immediately remembered my childlike confession of love. Jesus had indeed received it, received me. I cried in the middle of the church service. I felt so honored by him. For who am I to be heard by the Lord of heaven and earth? Who am I to confess love to a king?

Standard

2 thoughts on “God hears me

  1. Maria c says:

    Thanks for sharing.
    Loved the imagination part. It is my struggle. But God is here with us present and helping us through the work of the Holy Spirit. ❤

    Like

  2. Betty says:

    Thank You for posting your deepest, heartfelt thoughts and prayers Ashley.
    And thank You precious Jesus, for
    confirming to dear Ashley that You hear her.
    Ashley I love the words from Ps.139 that you shared. Bless you dear Ashley as you stay in His word and His presence.

    Like

Leave a comment