Reflection

conversion story

Earlier this week, I was asked to describe how I had come to faith in Jesus and received forgiveness of my sins. My mind went back to five years old, alone in a dark bedroom, afraid of being sent to hell.

As a little girl, I told my parents that I didn’t believe in God. I couldn’t see him! But I had been going to AWANA and Sunday School and knew what to do when the fear of hell struck. I prayed, still alone in a dark bedroom, a little sinner’s prayer. I don’t remember what I said, but it could have gone something like this: “Dear God, I confess that I am a sinner. I believe that Jesus died on the cross to save me from my sins. I trust you to forgive me.” Did I, as a little self-proclaimed atheist, really believe at that moment?

I don’t know how much that matters. Here’s what happened next: Jesus entered my imagination in glory. I saw light radiating from him, and I felt his favor. I remember drawing pictures of this vision with crayons later. I remember wanting to tell everyone what God had done for me. I believed because he revealed himself to me.

In recounting this story, I was moved by how little I did to deserve that gift of the presence and favor of Jesus. I was a child and didn’t even have childlike faith! All I had was maybe a heart that was open to God for the first time. I hadn’t done anything yet, become anything yet, believed the right things yet, and still (and maybe because of that) God could break in.

I remembered other times since that I’ve felt the presence and love of God or heard a word from him. I can’t think of a single time when I was doing something to make me believe I deserved it. And yet, I still live the lie that I must make myself something for God. Every day. But I’m weary and worn and sad and I just can’t do enough.

No. I must resist the lie and make myself nothing. Maybe then, my eyes will be on him instead of myself. I’ll have a heart humble to receive him. I’ll feel his unmerited and unending favor again, just like the night when I was afraid of the dark of hell but saw the light of Christ instead.

Standard

2 thoughts on “conversion story

  1. So often I see believers who came to faith as children diminish or even demean their conversion story. After all, compared to many a dramatic retelling of conversions by believers saved later in life, their story seems quaint. Unexciting. Almost cookie-cutter. Not so with your retelling, Ashley. This is what I love about your piece: it grasps the sinfulness of an early unbelief and magnifies the glory of His grace. That’s the gospel, and it is as powerful and transforming for children as it is for grownups. So glad you wrote.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment